Fire Extinguisher Types

Fire Extinguisher Types

Fires are divided into five main types, depending on the nature of the fuel involved:

Class A fires involve solid fuels, such as wood

Class B fires involve flammable liquids, such as petrol

Class C fires involve gas

Class D fires involve metals, such as potassium or magnesium

Class F fires involve cooking oils

Before this classification system, there was a classification of electrical fires, but since electricity itself is a cause of fire, these types of fires have been incorporated into the main classes. Once you have turned off the electricity the fire becomes the same as any other.

This table shows, at a glance, the fire extinguisher types suitable for each class.